Marvel silver age reading order

Part 1: Origins

Fantastic Four (1961) #1 Cover

Fantastic Four (1961) #1 Cover

Part 1.1: The Marvel Age Begins

In 1961, the Marvel Universe we know today began with the release of Fantastic Four #1. While the adventures of this cosmically powered family formed the foundation of the Marvel Universe, several other heroes soon emerged including the size-changing Ant-Man, the monstrous Hulk, and the Norse God of legend known only as Thor.

Reading Order:

  • Fantastic Four #1-7

  • Tales to Astonish #27

  • Incredible Hulk #1-6

  • Journey Into Mystery #83-97

  • Strange Tales #101-106

  • Tales to Astonish #35-48

  • Fantastic Four #8-18

Amazing Fantasy #15 Cover

Amazing Fantasy #15 Cover

Part 1.2: Power and Responsibility

After the existence of superheroes and villains becomes known around the world, a new hero is born in the unlikely form of Peter Parker, a quiet teenager who gains powers after being bitten by a radioactive spider. In Strange Tales, the Human Torch has some solo adventures away from the Fantastic Four, and across the globe the mechanical Iron Man is invented by a desperate Tony Stark in Tales of Suspense. 

Reading Order:

  • Amazing Fantasy #15

  • Amazing Spider-Man #1-12

  • Strange Tales #107-114

  • Strange Tales Annual #2

  • Fantastic Four Annual #1

  • Tales of Suspense #39-47

The Avengers (1963) #4 Cover

The Avengers (1963) #4 Cover

Part 1.3: Strength in Numbers

When the evil Loki threatens humanity, Iron Man, the Hulk, Thor, Ant-Man, and the Wasp team up to become Earth's mightiest heroes—The Avengers. Then, a more unusual team of heroes arrives in the form of the X-Men, a group of teenagers born with uncanny abilities.

Reading Order:

  • The Avengers #1

  • Tales to Astonish #49-58

  • The Avengers #2

  • The X-Men #1-5

  • Tales to Astonish #50-57

  • Tales of Suspense #48-53

  • Fantastic Four #19-20

  • Strange Tales #115

  • Fantastic Four #21-24

  • The Avengers #3-4

  • Fantastic Four #25-26

  • The Avengers #5-6